Skip to content

Rape > Abortion > Excommunication?

March 9, 2009

*warning* This is going to be an angry rant.  I’ll avoid foul language, though 😉

What. . .the. . .heck (yes, I know)

Seriously?  I don’t hate the Roman Catholic Church or anything, but this is ridiculous.  A 9-year-old, not a 19 year old, A NINE YEAR OLD, her mother, and her doctor were all excommunicated after the girl had an abortion. My gosh.  Why would you do something like this?

The girl was raped by her stepfather.  She was going to have twins.  If she had, them she was going to die., according to her doctors.  What would be the logical choice here, let all three die, or just have the babies die?  Now, I’m no mathematician, so feel free to correct me, but 3 is greater than 2.  The logical choice is obviously to kill 2, not 3.  Game theory, mathematics, even just simple common sense say so.

Before I go on, let me get this out of the way, I have nothing against religion.  I think it has many benefits to the world.  But the Catholic Church just went too far.  They excommunicated her, her mother, and he doctor.  Seriously?

This is absolutely ridiculous.  Outrageous.  I can guarantee you that this 9-year-old did not make the decision to have the abortion by herself.  Anyone who knows a 9-year-old would understand that 9-year-olds cannot make this kind of decision by themselves.  Not only that, but her mother and her doctors were excommunicated? For what?  Protecting a girl’s interests?  Saving a life?  KNOWING THAT THREE LIVES ARE BETTER THAN TWO?  I can hardly begin to express my frustration with this whole thing.

Oh, and did I forget to mention the most frustrating part?  The stepfather wasn’t excommunicated!  So, let me put this in perspective:

A young girl gets raped.  Her mother and doctor try to protect her life by aborting the children, which would save one life, and only destroy two already doomed ones.   So, in a colossal display of ignorance, the doctors, mom, and girl get excommunicated?  And the rapist doesn’t?  Please, tell me that I’m completely misread this.  I had so much more confidence in the church than this.

*sigh*  You can stop here if you want.  That’s the big story.  But, I guess this is a good opportunity to talk about my views on abortion.

I believe that abortion is morally wrong, in most cases.  You are destroying a life that will almost certainly become a human.  However, in some cases, I think that it is okay.  If the mother’s life is threatened, go right ahead and abort the child(ren).  I feel bad for the babies, but the mother’s life is important.  I’m split on whether it is right in the case of rape.  On one hand, the child is unwanted, on the other, its still a child.

Now, after reading that, you’d probably guess that I think abortion should be illegal.  Wrong!  I support abortion rights.  “That’s crazy” some might say.  Allow me to explain:

I wholeheartedly believe in choice, which is shown in nearly all of my views on social issues.  Yes, I think abortion is immoral.  Yes, I consider the embryo vastly important.  But I do not think that I should be able to force these views on others.  If they do not see the embryo as a human life (they are nearly identical to other animals’ in the beginning stages), then that is their view.  I do not believe in forcing my view upon them.

Imagine that abortion was illegal.  I predict that a form of “black market” for abortion would be formed, where women find illegal, and often dangerous, treatments, and, in some extreme cases, get an untrained person to try to do it.  No, instead of directly making it illegal, I think that steps should be taken to discourage it.  I would like to see more adoptions.  For example, I don’t think ANY state should prevent gays from adopting (but that’s an issue for another day).  I would also like to see more welfare for the poor with children, making economic issues less of a factor.

Well, thanks for hanging on for all nearly 700 words.  Any feedback is appreciated.  Until next time!

-Pawleng

Editor’s note:I am a total idiot.  I misread the story.  It was only the mother and doctors that were excommunicated.  I still feel the same, but it is important to clear this up.  The girl was NOT excommunicated. I’m terribly sorry for my incredible stupidity.  Please forgive me 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nocturnal Melody permalink
    March 9, 2009 6:14 PM

    This is just yet another pathetic display of ignorance by the Catholic Church, and I am not at all surprised.

    As an Atheist, I fully support abortion, because it’s a choice to be made by the individual, not by their faith.

  2. Sofia permalink
    March 9, 2009 7:11 PM

    My Dear Friend,
    Yes I have managed to read all of this incredibly long article at the cost of some AP and Math homework. So because of that I will be brief.
    1)The 9 year-old herself was NOT excommunicated. She obviously holds no culpability of what was done to her. Hence some changes in the blog post should be changed :).
    2)Overall I enjoyed the blog though I’d sure like to do an “opposing viewpoints” oneday (hint hint guest writer?)
    3)Excommunications aren’t necessarily permanent.
    4) Raping a poor child is sick.

  3. pawleng permalink*
    March 9, 2009 7:23 PM

    Sofia: I already edited it, long before your post.

  4. Sofia permalink
    March 11, 2009 12:57 PM

    Lol, the editor’s note is a bit harsh toward you pawleg. Not stupidity, just a mistake my dear. The news headline mention “9 year-old” and “excommunication” usually in the same sentence so it’s understandable. So I suppose I’ll wait for the next post, big fan already though ;-).

Leave a Reply

