Skip to content

Stem Cells

March 8, 2009
by

Tomorrow, President Obama is expected to repeal former president Bush’s ban on federal funding for embryonic stem cell research.  This will greatly increase the capacity to use embryonic stem cells.  This is great!

I will admit, I personally have an interest in stem cells, since it may help find a cure for diabetes (which I have).  However, I would like to point out that I’ve been a firm supporter of embryonic stem cell research even before I was diagnosed.

Embryonic stem cells are the most versatile kind.  They have been shown to have the potential to cure diseases, if they are able to be harnessed to become the tissues (possibly whole organs, eventually) that we need them to become.

There is, of course, much controversy surrounding stem cell research.  The main argument against it is that it destroys a life, since it destroys an embryo.  I disagree.  I do not believe that an embryo is a human life, it just has the potential to become one.  Additionally, stem cell research could eventually save lives, meaning that human life is preserved, not destroyed.  It could also improve life, by curing non-deadly disease like Type 1 diabetes.

All in all, I think this is a great step taken by the Obama administration.  Not to say that I don’t have many criticisms of them, but this truly is one of the most helpful actions that they have taken so far, and I am proud to know that they are taking a step in favor of science, unlike the previous administration.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nocturnal Melody permalink
    March 8, 2009 9:21 PM

    I too am greatly interested in the potential of the stem cell research, so I will be keeping an eye on the development of this story.

  2. Sofia permalink
    March 11, 2009 1:11 PM

    Dear Knowing your clear view of embroys not being human I’ll simply comment on the news story.

    1)Why make those that don’t support embroyonic stem cell research pay for its research?
    2)Can’t we further research on adult stem cells and blood cord stem cells and make everyone happy?
    3)One question: Using your article that you state your view of abortion and not imposing beliefs you don’t believe upon others. Well, does this differ much?

  3. pawleng permalink*
    March 11, 2009 6:39 PM

    1) That is a misunderstanding of the tax system. I don’t support the war in Iraq. I don’t support the war in Afghanistan. Heck, I don’t even support paying congress when we’re in debt. But that doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t be done. If people do not support something that the government does, their way of expressing it is voting. You cannot make everyone happy.

    2) We could try really, really hard. It would probably be easier to do politically. But I’d rather not get cancer trying to cure diabetes. As far as these “blood cord stem cells” (I’m assuming you mean cord blood), we may have a break through in say, 40 years. We really know so little about it. And, although I’m not sure, I think the amount that we can get would be an issue.

    3) Yes. You are not forcing people to do/not to do anything with Stem Cells. You would be with abortion.

Leave a Reply

